Lawyers providing immigration assistance

What Is a Professional Order?

A professional order is an organization that the government has mandated to regulate and monitor the professional activities that may place the public at risk, even though each order's administration is autonomous.

In Québec, 46 professional orders regulate the profession of over 385,000 members. Doctors, dentists, lawyers and engineers, for example, are all in professions that are regulated by a professional order, which are set up in accordance with the Professional Code.

The main mission of a professional order is to protect the public—or in other words, all the people who use professional services in the various regulated areas of activity. It should be noted that it is wrong to believe that a professional order is an association that protects its members' interests. To be represented in this way, such members may join another organization that is separate and independent from the professional order.

The roles and responsibilities of a professional order:

  • To control its members' competence and integrity
  • To monitor the practice of the profession
  • To regulate the practice
  • To administer the disciplinary process
  • To promote the development of the profession
© Barreau du Québec 2013-

L'avocat au service de l'immigration

Qu'est-ce qu'un ordre professionnel?

Un ordre professionnel est un organisme qui s’est vu confié par l’État le mandat de réglementer et de surveiller les activités professionnelles qui peuvent comporter des risques pour le public, et ce, même si l’administration de chacun des ordres est autonome.

Au Québec, 46 ordres professionnels réglementent la profession de plus de 385 000 membres. Les médecins, les dentistes, les avocats, les ingénieurs, par exemple, sont tous des professionnels dont la profession est régit par un ordre professionnel. Ces ordres sont constitués conformément au Code des professions.

La mission principale d’un ordre est de protéger le public, soit toutes les personnes qui utilisent des services professionnels dans les différentes sphères d’activités réglementées. Il est à noter qu’il est faux de croire qu’un ordre professionnel est une association qui protège les intérêts de ses membres. Ces derniers peuvent adhérer à une organisation distincte et indépendante de l’ordre professionnel pour être ainsi représentés.

Rôles et responsabilité d’un ordre professionnel :

  • Contrôler la compétence et l’intégrité de ses membres
  • Surveiller l’exercice de la profession
  • Réglementer l’exercice
  • Gérer le processus disciplinaire
  • Favoriser le développement de la profession
© Barreau du Québec 2013-