Lawyers providing immigration assistance

Immigration Representatives

All immigration procedures may be carried out without the assistance of a lawyer or other immigration counsellor (an immigration consultant, Québec notary or paralegal). You may submit your application yourself, by carefully following all the steps. Whether you deal with a counsellor or not, your file won't be handled any more quickly.

However, if you decide to deal with a counsellor, whether a lawyer or not, usually for a fee, inquire about that person beforehand. First check whether that person is authorized to act in that capacity in dealing with you. Ask for references and try to get recommendations from people you know. Ask for a written statement of the cost of the services offered by that counsellor and the services offered for that amount of money. Ask questions and, above all, be suspicious of what seems too good to be true, because it probably is…

People who have recourse to a lawyer for a case that is covered by Legal Aid must take note that under section 60 of the Legal Aid Act, lawyers who have agreed to take on a case with the legal aid mandate cannot bill any additional charges for that case. Moreover, if you have to pay cash to a lawyer, it is important to always demand a receipt.

If you choose an immigration representative in Canada, you may contact the Québec Commercial Certification Office, before making your choice, to find out whether any complaints have been filed against the consultant with whom you are planning on dealing, if he's a member of the Office.

You may also consult the Québec registry of recognized immigration consultants (Registre québécois des consultants en immigration reconnus).

To obtain more information on immigration representatives, consult the section Learn about using a representative on Citizenship and Immigration Canada's website.

© Barreau du Québec 2013-

L'avocat au service de l'immigration

Représentants en immigration

Toutes les démarches d’immigration peuvent être réalisées sans l’aide d’un avocat ou d’un autre conseiller en immigration (consultant en immigration, notaire au Québec ou parajuriste). Vous pouvez faire votre demande vous-même en suivant bien toutes les étapes. Que vous fassiez affaires ou non avec un conseiller, votre dossier ne sera pas traité plus rapidement.

Cependant, si vous décidez de faire affaire avec un conseiller, avocat ou non, moyennant habituellement une rémunération, renseignez-vous sur lui. Vérifiez d'abord s'il est autorisé à agir comme tel auprès de vous, demandez des références et tentez d'avoir des recommandations de personnes que vous connaissez. Demandez par écrit le coût des services que vous offre le consultant et les services offerts pour ce montant. Posez des questions, et surtout, méfiez-vous de ce qui semble trop beau pour être vrai, car c'est probablement le cas.

Les personnes qui ont recours à un avocat pour un dossier couvert par l’aide juridique doivent savoir que selon l’article 60 de la Loi sur l’aide juridique, les avocats ayant accepté de prendre le dossier avec le mandat d’aide juridique ne peuvent facturer aucune somme supplémentaire pour ce même dossier. De plus, si vous devez remettre de l’argent comptant à un avocat, il est important de toujours exiger un reçu.

Si vous choisissez un représentant en immigration au Canada, vous pouvez communiquer avec l'Office de certification commerciale du Québec avant de faire votre choix. On pourra vous dire si des plaintes ont été déposées contre le consultant avec qui vous prévoyez faire affaires, si celui-ci est membre de l'Office.

Vous pouvez aussi consulter le Registre québécois des consultants en immigration reconnus.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les représentants en immigration, consultez la section Recourir aux services d'un représentant en immigration et en citoyenneté sur le site Web de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada.


© Barreau du Québec 2013-