Lawyers providing immigration assistance

In terms of money

Banking services

To begin with, you need a bank account for your day-to-day transactions, such as depositing your pay, for example. To do so, you may contact the financial institution of your choice. It is recommended that you not close your bank account in your country of origin before opening one in Québec. Banks, credit unions and trust companies offer you a variety of services, including foreign currency exchange, money transfers and safety deposit boxes.

Banking services are very automated and so you will find automated banking machines at many locations to obtain money, pay bills or deposit cheques, using a bank debit card. Most routine transactions may be carried out with this card (at supermarkets, gas stations, pharmacies, etc.) and the amount will automatically be debited from your account; however, service fees may be added to each transaction.

Credit cards

Financial institutions as well as certain stores offer a wide variety of credit cards, but it is important to be careful in using them, because at the end of the month, if you don't repay the entire amount of the items or services that you have purchased on credit for that month, interest will be added, and the interest rate is very high.

Sales tax

In Québec, you will have to pay sales tax on most goods and services (for example, on clothing, hardware, a plumber's or electrician's services, etc.). There are two taxes: the GST (the Federal government's goods and services tax—5% in 2013) and the QST (the Québec sales tax—9.975% in 2016). These taxes are not usually included in the price, but will be added when you purchase an item or a service.

In Québec, its is Revenu Québec that is responsible for administering the GST and QST. More information on sales tax as well as on the goods and services to which they apply (and don't apply) may be found in the tax section on Revenu Québec's website.

Income tax

The money that each person pays in income tax is used to finance services for all Quebecers, (health, education, social services, etc.). Income tax is directly deducted from workers' salary.

Everyone living in Québec has to file an income tax return to declare their income. All taxpayers must declare the income earned in a year and may claim the tax deductions or tax credits to which they are entitled. Every year, Quebecers must prepare two income tax returns on special forms: one for the provincial government (Revenu Québec) and the other one for the Federal government (Canada Revenue Agency). The tax year is from January 1 to December 31. Income tax returns must be sent to the two governments no later than April 30 of each year.

Salary deductions

Certain amounts of money will be directly deducted from the pay you receive from your employer—income tax (Federal and provincial), your contribution to the Canada Pension Plan or the Québec Pension Plan, your contribution to Employment Insurance, union dues if you are a member of a union, your contribution to a pension or retirement fund and any other deduction agreed upon in writing between you and your employer.

More information on banking services, credit cards, income tax and other practical information relating to money matters may be found in the guide entitled Learning about Québec.

Citizenship and Immigration Canada's website has also devoted a section on how to prepare financially.

© Barreau du Québec 2013-

L'avocat au service de l'immigration

En matière d'argent

Les services bancaires

Vous avez d'abord besoin d'un compte bancaire pour effectuer vos opérations courantes comme le dépôt de votre paie par exemple. Vous pouvez vous adresser à l'institution financière de votre choix pour se faire. Il est recommandé de ne pas fermer votre compte dans votre pays avant d'en avoir obtenu un au Québec. Les banques, caisses ou sociétés de fiducies vous offrent une variété de services allant du change de devises étrangères, le transfert d'argent au simple coffret de sûreté.

Les services bancaires sont très automatisés et vous trouverez ainsi des guichets automatiques en plusieurs endroits pour obtenir de l'argent, payer des factures ou déposer des chèques à l'aide d'une carte de débit bancaire. La plupart des transactions courantes peuvent être faites à l'aide de cette carte (épicerie, station d'essence, pharmacie, etc.) et le montant sera débité de votre compte automatiquement. Des frais peuvent cependant s'appliquer pour chacune des transactions.

Les cartes de crédit

Les institutions financières de même que certains commerces proposent un grand nombre de cartes de crédit. Il faut cependant être prudent quant à leur utilisation, car si on ne rembourse pas la totalité de la somme que nous avons utilisée à crédit lorsqu'arrive le moment de payer le solde, des intérêts s'appliquent et le taux est très élevé.

Les taxes de vente

Au Québec, vous devrez payer des taxes de vente sur la plupart des produits et services (ex. : vêtements, produits de quincaillerie, services d'un plombier ou d'un électricien, etc.). Il y a deux taxes. La TPS, ou taxes sur les produits et services, qui est une taxe de 5 % prélevée par le gouvernement du Canada, et la TVQ, ou la taxe de vente du Québec, qui est de 9,975 % en 2016. La plupart du temps, les taxes ne sont pas affichées dans le prix d'un article et seront ajoutées lorsque vous passerez à la caisse.

Au Québec, c'est Revenu Québec qui administre la TPS et la TVQ. Pour en savoir plus sur les taxes de vente et les produits et services sur lesquels elles s'appliquent ou non, visitez la section sur les taxes du site Web de Revenu Québec.

Les impôts

L'argent que chaque personne paie en impôt sert à financer des services de la collectivité (santé, éducation, services sociaux, etc.). Le paiement des impôts se fait directement par retenue sur votre salaire de travail.

Toutes les personnes qui résident au Québec doivent produire leurs déclarations de revenus. Chaque contribuable déclare le revenu qu'il a gagné dans l'année et peut demander des déductions ou crédits d'impôt auquel il a droit. Chaque année, le Québécois doit produire deux déclarations de revenus : une pour le gouvernement du Québec (Revenu Québec) et une autre pour le gouvernement du Canada (Agence du revenu du Canada). Ces déclarations sont faites sur des formulaires prévus pour cela. Une année d'imposition s'étend du 1er janvier au 31 décembre. Les déclarations de revenus doivent être transmises aux deux gouvernements au plus tard le 30 avril de chaque année.

Retenues sur la paie

Certaines sommes d'argent seront retenues directement sur la paie que vous recevez de votre employeur. Il s'agit de l'impôt sur le revenu (fédéral et provincial), de la cotisation au Régime de pensions du Canada ou au Régime de rentes du Québec, de la cotisation pour l’assurance-emploi, les cotisations syndicales si vous êtes membre d’un syndicat, la contribution à un régime de retraite ou de pension et toute autre retenue qui a été convenue par écrit entre vous et votre employeur.

Pour obtenir plus d'informations sur les services bancaires, les cartes de crédit, les impôts et autres informations pratiques en matière d'argent, consultez le guide Apprendre le Québec.

Le site Web de Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada consacre également une section sur la préparation financière.

© Barreau du Québec 2013-