Lawyers providing immigration assistance

In terms of education

Registering children at school

In Québec, the education system is secular (not related to religion) and is free of charge from kindergarten to college. French and English are taught in the schools; however, since French is the official language of Québec, immigrants' children are required to attend a French school until they complete high school.

All children between the ages of 6 and 16 must attend school. The school year consists of a minimum of 180 days of classes and starts at the end of August or the beginning of September and ends around late June, before the Québec Holiday on June 24. Girls and boys are generally in the same classrooms at all grade levels.

Additional information on education in Québec—elementary and high schools as well as colleges and universities, adult training centres, etc.—may be found on the website of the Ministère de l’Éducation et de l'Enseignement supérieur.

Equivalence and recognition of pre-acquired knowledge and skills

Equivalences
To have their pre-acquired knowledge recognized, young students admitted to a general education program must undergo tests developed in accordance with Québec's study programs.

For adults, the Ministère de l’Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport awards units of equivalence if the candidate pursues studies to obtain a high school diploma or seeks admission to a study program, after it has reviewed that candidate's academic record.

Comparative evaluation for studies outside Québec
This evaluation establishes a general comparison between two official education systems. Such an evaluation may be useful in job searches or in applying for admission to a program of study, for example. It provides a description of the diplomas, transcripts and studies completed in an education system recognized by the authorities of a country or province other than Québec.

Additional information about this evaluation and the form to fill out may be obtained on the website of the Ministère de l’Immigration, de la Diversité et de l'Inclusion.

© Barreau du Québec 2013-

L'avocat au service de l'immigration

En matière d'éducation

Inscrire les enfants à l’école

Au Québec, le système d’éducation est laïc et il est gratuit de la maternelle jusqu’au collégial. Le français et l’anglais sont enseignés dans les écoles, mais les enfants d’immigrants devront fréquenter les écoles francophones jusqu’à la fin de leur secondaire du fait que le français est la langue officielle du Québec.

Tous les enfants âgés entre 6 et 16 ans sont obligés d’aller à l’école. Une année scolaire comprend un minimum de 180 jours de classe et débute à la fin août, ou début septembre, pour se terminer vers la fin juin avant la fête de la Saint-Jean-Baptiste (Fête nationale du Québec), le 24 juin. Les classes sont généralement mixtes, et ce, à tous les niveaux.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’éducation au Québec, l’école primaire, secondaire, le collégial et les universités, les centres de formation pour adultes, etc., visitez le site du ministère de l’Éducation et de l'Enseignement supérieur.

Les équivalences et reconnaissance des acquis et des compétences

Équivalences
La reconnaissance des acquis des jeunes élèves admis à la formation générale se fait au moyen d’épreuves élaborées conformément aux programmes d’études du Québec.

Pour les adultes, le ministère accorde des unités en équivalence si le candidat poursuit une formation en vue de l’obtention d’un diplôme d’étude secondaire ou fait une admission à un programme d’études, et ce, après avoir analysé son dossier scolaire.

Évaluation comparative des études effectuées hors Québec

Cette évaluation établit une comparaison générale entre deux systèmes éducatifs officiels. Cette évaluation peut être utile dans une démarche de recherche d’emploi, pour faire une demande d’admission à un programme d’études par exemple. Elle fournit une description des diplômes, des relevés de notes et des études effectuées dans un système scolaire reconnu par les autorités d’un pays ou d’une province autre que le Québec.

Pour en savoir plus sur cette évaluation et obtenir le formulaire, visitez le site du ministère de l’Immigration, de la diversité et de l'Inclusion.

© Barreau du Québec 2013-