Lawyers providing immigration assistance

Housing

Finding an apartment

To find an apartment, you can search through the classified ads in the local newspapers; a number of landlords advertise their vacancies there. Or you can walk around the neighbourhood where you would like to live and locate the "À louer" ("for rent") signs, for example.

Rental costs may vary depending on the number of rooms, where the apartment building is located, the nearness to certain services and whether or not the apartment is furnished, semi-furnished or not.

You will have to sign a lease with the landlord who rents you the apartment you choose. A lease is usually for one year, from July 1 to June 30 (although there is no fixed period required for how long the rental period must be) and it is renewable. Carefully read the lease before signing it.

More information on living in an apartment, on leases and their renewal and other related topics may be found on the Services Québec website.

Video bonus

For additional information (in French), free of charge, watch show #10 in the television series Le Droit de savoir, on the rights and obligations of landlords and tenants.

Home insurance

You don't have to buy home insurance, but it is strongly recommended so that you are protected in the event of unexpected incidents, such as a fire or theft. In addition, this insurance could protect you against any claims that might be made against you in case any damage is caused to the apartment, either by your belongings or because of your own negligence.

Québec rental board

The Régie du logement du Québec is a tribunal—a board—in charge of enforcing legislation relating to rental housing units. The Régie promotes reconciliation between landlords and tenants, informs residents about their rights and obligations as well as their rights and obligations resulting from a lease. Disputes over residential leases may be submitted to the Régie, which examines and reaches decisions on such cases.

As a tenant, you have rights, but you also have obligations.

For more information:

A special telephone line to answer your questions

A telephone line was set up jointly with the Barreau du Québec in February 2012, so that tenants and landlords can obtain information on their housing rights. All you have to do is call and you can speak right away, free of charge, to a lawyer specializing in housing law who can give you legal information.

Monday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m., a number of lawyers, in turn, provide the service that is offered.

Free telephone call : 1 844 227-3790

© Barreau du Québec 2013-

L'avocat au service de l'immigration

En matière de logement

Trouver un logement

Pour trouver un logement, vous pouvez regarder les petites annonces dans les journaux locaux, plusieurs propriétaires affichent les offres à cet endroit, sinon, vous pouvez vous promener dans le quartier où vous aimeriez vivre et repérer les pancartes « à louer » par exemple.

Le prix du loyer peut varier en fonction du nombre de pièces, de l’endroit où est situé le logement, la proximité de certains services, le fait que le logement soit meublé, semi-meublé ou non.

Vous devrez signer un bail avec le propriétaire qui vous loue le logement. Le bail a généralement une durée d’un an, du 1er juillet au 30 juin, (bien qu’il n’y ait pas de période fixe obligatoire pour sa durée) et est renouvelable. Lisez bien le bail avant de le signer.

Pour obtenir plus d’information sur le fait de vivre en logement, le bail, son renouvellement et autres, visitez Services Québec.

Bonus vidéo

Pour en savoir plus, visionnez gratuitement l'émission 10 de la série télévisée Le Droit de savoir, portant sur les droits et obligations du propriétaire et du locataire.

Assurance habitation

Il n’est pas obligatoire de vous munir d’une assurance habitation, cependant il est fortement recommandé que vous en ayez une en cas d’événement imprévu comme un incendie ou un vol. De plus, cette assurance pourrait vous protéger contre des poursuites que l’on pourrait intenter contre vous si des dommages étaient causés par votre négligence ou vos biens.

La Régie du logement

La Régie du logement du Québec est le tribunal chargé d’appliquer la législation dans le domaine du logement locatif résidentiel.
La Régie favorise la conciliation entre locateurs et locataires, informe les citoyennes et citoyens sur les droits et obligations des locateurs (propriétaires) et des locataires et sur les droits et obligations découlant d’un bail et elle entend les litiges relatifs à un bail d’habitation et rend des décisions.

En tant que locataire, vous avez des droits mais aussi des obligations.

Pour en savoir plus :

Une ligne téléphonique dédiée à vos questions

Une ligne téléphonique a été créée conjointement avec le Barreau du Québec en février 2012, pour permettre aux locataires et aux propriétaires d’obtenir des renseignements sur leurs droits en matière de logement. Ainsi, vous n’avez qu’à décrocher le combiné afin de parler immédiatement, et gratuitement, à un avocat exerçant en droit du logement qui sera en mesure de vous donner de l’information juridique.

Plusieurs avocats, à tour de rôle, assurent le service offert du lundi au vendredi, de 8 h 30 à 16 h 30.

Appel téléphonique gratuit : 1 844 227-3790

© Barreau du Québec 2013-