Lawyers providing immigration assistance

The Client-Lawyer Relation

The legal world may be intimidating at first—with its rules, codes, language, etc.—and, even more so, in another country. The lawyer's role is to guide you through this system and to ensure that everything goes as smoothly as possible.

Your lawyer is there to work with you in order to seek out the best solution to get you out of an impasse or to prevent you from falling into one. And above all, consulting a lawyer at the right time can avoid many problems and financial losses for you, in all kinds of situations, including—but not only—immigration.

Good client-lawyer relations are based on confidence and communication. It is a teamwork effort that must be built on a solid foundation from the very start.

Consult the Barreau du Québec's website for more information on client-lawyer relations, lawyers' fees, the mandate you must give him, the fee agreement, preparation for the first meeting, the professional secrecy by which a lawyer is bound, etc.

You may also consult the pamphlet entitled We make it a point of law to guide you: Lawyer/client relations, published by the Barreau.

© Barreau du Québec 2013-

L'avocat au service de l'immigration

La relation client-avocat

L'univers juridique peut être intimidant de prime abord avec ses règles, ses codes, son langage, etc., et surtout, dans un autre pays. Le rôle de l'avocat est de vous guider dans ce système et de faire en sorte que tout se déroule pour le mieux.

Votre avocat est là pour chercher avec vous la meilleure solution pour vous sortir d’une impasse ou pour vous éviter d’y tomber. Surtout, consulter un avocat au moment opportun peut vous éviter bien des problèmes et des pertes financières, et ce, pour toutes sortes de situations incluant l'immigration mais pas seulement.

Une bonne relation client-avocat est basée sur la confiance et la communication. Il s'agit d'un travail d'équipe dont les bases doivent être bien établies dès le départ.

Consultez le site Web du Barreau du Québec pour en savoir plus sur la relation client-avocat, les honoraires de l'avocat, le mandat que vous devez lui donner, la convention d'honoraires, la préparation pour une première rencontre, le secret professionnel auquel il est lié, etc.

Vous pouvez également consulter la brochure On se fait une loi de vous guider : La relation client-avocat publiée par le Barreau.

© Barreau du Québec 2013-